Press release



4 March 2017


Champions South Africa defend the International Blind Bowlers’ Association (IBBA) World Bowls champions they won at Worthing, England in 2013, when 150 visually impaired players and directors from 10 nations take to the superb WPCC greens in Cape Town, from March 20-31.

Entries are: Australia, Canada, England, England, Malaysia, New Zealand, Northern Ireland Scotland, South Africa and Wales.

The opening is March 19, with a prize-giving ceremony on March 31.

SA team:

B1 – Blind: Tracy Smith, Sables (director: Tommy Smith); Michiel Kruger, S Free State (Graham Hallowell); B2 Partially Sighted: Gwen Nel, EP (Geoff Newcombe); Jaco van Straaten, Gauteng N (Johann du Toit); B3 Partially Sighted: May Homer, Ekurhuleni (Paul Homer) Herman Scholtz, Gauteng N (Annetjie van Rooyen); B4 Partially Sighted: Princess Schroeder, WP (Graham Ward); Eben Fourie, Mpumalanga (Hannetjie Smit). Manager: Karin Gouws (Sables).

In a message to officials of the IBBA, players and supporters from all over the world arriving in Cape Town, Bowls SA president, Kallie Haupt, praised work done for the disabled.

The 11th International Blind Bowlers Championships, he said, “brings together 10 member countries and 130 players and directors and I trust that they will experience our traditional hospitality as it is indeed a privilege for South Africa to be host to this prestigious event. Blindness is certainly one of the severe disabilities and the public of South Africa have a unique opportunity to see how blind bowlers come to terms with the disability.”

He thanked Jenny Phillips and her organising committee for dedicated commitment, Western Province Cricket Club for their facilities and acknowledged the essential financial support of the City of Cape Town and Lions International.

Alan Simmonds, Media Officer, Bowls SA


Add comment

Security code